Quick Login

Author Topic: CW Kit suggestions?  (Read 2888 times)

Offline AG6QR

• Leading Rate
CW Kit suggestions?
« on: May 06, 2015, 05:46:15 UTC »
I'm getting the itch to build a radio.

I already have a KX3 and a Rockmite.  I'm looking for something in between those two -- more frequency-agile than the Rockmite, but cheaper, simpler, and smaller than the KX3.  CW only.  Simple and rugged.  I realize I'm not going to beat the performance of the KX3, but I'm looking for a very portable backup rig that will get me on a band or two with a watt or two.

I want a kit, with a decent enclosure.  It needs to be a kit that is currently available (there are many discontinued kits, sadly).  I want to get the soldering iron hot.  I'm happy to solder through hole or SMD.  I'm an experienced kit builder, and have a suite of test gear including oscilloscope and various meters and signal generators.

I've considered the Elecraft K1 and KX1, but they seem a bit expensive once they're well equipped.  They're a little too close to my existing KX3 in price and performance.  Right now, I'm leaning toward a KX1JV Weber Tri-bander: http://www.qrpkits.com/tribander.html

I have also considered the MFJ Cub: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-9340K

The Cub is cheaper and very simple.  It has some little flaws that I would have to remedy, which might be fun in itself.  I'd build a keyer into it (I already have a spare picokeyer kit).  I've seen suggestions on the web to improve QSK, reduce key clicks, and improve linearity of tuning, and perhaps improve stability of the VFO.

The Weber tri-bander has a stable DDS VFO, a frequency display, and more frequency coverage.  The keyer is already built in.  It seems like an all-around better performing radio, and that seems to be the direction I'm leaning.

Does the group have any other suggestions for currently available radio kits in this class that I've overlooked?