Quick Login

Author Topic: Hello! New to club.  (Read 2524 times)

Offline KF7GON

• Able Seaman
Hello! New to club.
« on: April 03, 2016, 17:02:24 UTC »
My name is Bruce and I am relatively new to QRP.  I recently retired and have re-discovered my favorite hobby--Ham Radio.  I am looking forward to the challenge of QRP and learning about what works and what doesn't.  Any advice or ideas you might would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
KF7GON

Offline GM0LVI

• Admiral
Re: Hello! New to club.
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2016, 20:10:43 UTC »
Hi there Bruce and welcome to the group and the fun of QRP.
I spent almost 25 years running 100 Watts and also 400 Watts for a short spell and eventually became completely disenchanted due to the operating standards that seemed to be becoming worse year by year.
About 4 years ago I discovered QRP radio and a group of afficianados whose standards were still pretty much like they were when I first got on the air. Courtesy and consideration still were foremost.
Hints & Tips :
1. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy every QRP contact. QRO is EASY, QRP is REMARKABLE.
2. The most important bit of hardware is your antenna. As a general rule of thumb the bigger the better, though small can also be beautiful if well tuned and well matched.
3. An antenna is probably the least expensive part of your radio system. Experimenting with them is unlikely to break the bank and is also great fun.
4. Using CW rather than phone is worth at least two or three S points and can make the difference between making a contact and not making one.

Have fun and enjoy learning!
Dave

Offline KF7GON

• Able Seaman
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2016, 16:33:29 UTC »