Quick Login

Author Topic: Howdy  (Read 1267 times)

Offline VA3QV

• Able Seaman
    • The Amateur Radio World of VA3QV
Howdy
« on: February 17, 2016, 13:15:46 UTC »
I guess this is where I introduce my self...

VA3QV....  Name is Bob and I'm located in Ottawa Ontario (FN25). 

Using a Flex 1500 at home with a 55 foot (aprox) end fed inverted vee wire with 4 radials.  The set up needs a 4:1 balun and I feed the balun with an Elecraft T1 QRP Auto tuner  I operate ssb, cw and psk 31 at this time.  Not really into contesting but the contest are where most of the other guys are and they tend to have better hearing towards the end of the contests   Very limited space for antennas...  Allowed to have antennas at home but limited as they must stay within the confines of my 20 foot by 20 foot backyard.  Gotta keep everything in my own space

But I have managed WAS (SSB and CW), DXCC (Mixed and SSB) ...  Sitting at 67 dxcc (CW) and there is 10 dxcc (psk) and I'm just starting out in digital.  All these were made QRP with the antenna mentioned above

During the summer times my wife and myself head out for week long trips in our old (but paid for) rv.  There I use a yaesu FT 817, LDG QRP Auto Tuner and a NUE PSK Modem.  Antennas choices  range but the favourites are the PAR END FEDZ QRP (10-20-40) antenna in a vertical configuration supported by the S9 43 foot telescopic antenna (clamped to the ladder on the rear of the RV).  I find that using the ldg tuner makes it tolerable everywhere between 10m and 40m and no counterpoises/radials needed making the campsites neater. (and wife happier)

I also have a buddistick on a camera tripod which works well from 6m to 40m.